Skip to content

Guarding the Borders

May 7, 2012

Ran into a guy yesterday that I’ve known for over 20 years.  We did a student film together.  I played a shrink and he played my patient.  At least that’s what I remember.  It was over 20 years ago, so I could have it not quite right.

Years later I worked for him, writing comedy sketches for drive time radio.  I wasn’t very successful at it, because what they wanted most of all were things that played on aspects of popular culture that were hot at the moment.  This was when Seinfeld was on TV, and that was a touchstone for the writers.  I didn’t watch Seinfeld.  I also didn’t then, and don’t now watch late night TV.  Leno, Letterman and the others.  I like Craig Ferguson, but it airs way too late for me, and I’m so non au courant that I don’t even have cable tv, let alone a DVR that lets me record shows to watch later.  I also don’t follow sports.  Oh, and I read books on actual paper.  I don’t have a kindle or kindle-like object.  I don’t have a smart phone.  I can access the internet with the cell phone I have, but I don’t know how.  I also don’t know how to text.  I’m on Facebook, but not LinkedIn or Twitter.  I’m still on MySpace.  In fact, that’s where you’re reading this, unless I’ve finally gotten around to moving my blog to WordPress and moved this there.

By the way, I’ve nothing against Letterman, Leno, sports or Kindles.  It’s just not where my interests lie.  I’ve even done some comedy sketches on Leno’s show, and I’d love to do some more, but I’m usually in bed by the time his show comes on.  Besides, it’s not really a show that is directed at me.  I’m more a Dick Cavett kind of guy.

I’m an actor.  That’s my career.  I’m not aNew Yorkactor.  I’ve done over 50 plays, but I’m not particularly a theater actor.  I prefer working on camera.  I don’t want to do performances of the same work over and over and over, for weeks and weeks.  Sometimes it’s okay, but it’s not my preference.  So I’m anL.A.based actor who mostly works on TV, sometimes in films.

Yet I don’t read People or Us magazines, I don’t watch TMZ, I don’t even watch the awards shows.  Okay, sometimes, for a few minutes, I might come and go with the Oscars, but seldom for more than 20 minutes at a stretch.  A friend at the gym today told me he likes to watch the awards shows to see the beautiful women in their gowns.  I don’t like those clothes.  It’s like watching the hoi-polloi, and at heart, I’m a plebe.

Maybe I’ll feel differently if I’m ever nominated for such an award.  It is to laugh.

Yeah, I’m outside the mainstream.  That’s okay.  Somebody has to guard the borders.

(originally posted on MySpace 2/1/12

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

