Skip to content

Buy now, going fast

October 23, 2012

A few months ago I received an offer to subscribe to Newsweek magazine for only $20 for a year.  At that price, I was willing to go for it.  I hated their recent cover story headline about a scientist who had seen “heaven” when he’d been in a coma, mostly because heaven is, I believe, supposed to be the afterlife (something like an afterparty, I guess), and this man had not died.  So he may or may not have seen something, but there was no reason to label it heaven.  This was, I felt, pandering to the grocery store checkout line potential audience. 

Image

LINDSAY LOHAN ARRESTED AGAIN, 3RD STRIKE RULE APPLIES.

JENNIFER ANISTON WEIGHS IN AT 300 LBS., BLAMES ANCIENT BREAKUP WITH BRAD.

MARTIANS TAKE OVER IOWA SCHOOLBOARD.  MANDATE PRAYER IN CLASS.

 DOCTOR VIEWS HEAVEN.  BUYS BEACHFRONT PROPERTY.

More recently they published an article by David Stockman, Ronald Reagan’s budget director, demolishing Romney’s claims to be a job creator, which I found more palatable.

Then I saw in the newspaper that Newsweek was going to be ending their print edition.  This is what I get.  I wondered how this would effect me.  I called them today.  Naturally I had to do an internet search to find a phone number for their customer service office phone number.  It wasn’t on my subscription card, nor in their magazine, at least that I could find..  I was told that after the final print issue, I’d be sent a check refunding the pro-rated amount for the remainder of my subscription.  That sounds good, and if I actually get that check, I’ll be satisfied.

On the other hand, in today’s mail I got a letter from Newsweek offering a free gift subscription for “anyone of your choosing” if I renew my subscription.  Nowhere on this letter does it mention that the print editions will end 12/17/12, which is what I was told on the phone.

Is this a scam, or just a sign of a very inefficient business in its death throes?

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

