Skip to content

October 27, 2012

When I was a little kid, I craved chocolate.  More chocolate than I got to have.  A block away was the drug store, and they had a soda fountain, and a candy counter, and I rarely had money to buy chocolate.  Maybe when I got older….

Image

I began to have a little pocket money around age 12 or 13.  So I could buy chocolate.  Except that I began to get pimples, which one does at that age.  And chocolate was said to make this problem worse.  So, no chocolate.  Well, little chocolate.

I don’t recall pigging out on chocolate in my 20’s or 30’s, but that would have been the happy window of opportunity, before the next problem with chocolate was brought to bear.  Weight.  I ate too much (not necessarily chocolate – why, why) in my 30’s and 40’s (& I guess I still do), and gained a bunch of weight, and now, and I expect for the rest of my life (dammit)…now I’m trying to lose weight.  So, no chocolate.  Well, little chocolate.  Also little beer, which I may like even more than chocolate, but that’s a different topic.

This seems to be what life is like in so many of its facets.  You can’t have what you want for one reason or another throughout your life, except, for some things, there’s a window of opportunity after one problem ends and before the next begins.  After pimples, but before weight problems.

Well, I’ll weaken my complaints at least a touch.  I can have chocolate.  I can afford chocolate.  I can actually afford to have as much as I want, it’s just that it isn’t good for me in those amounts.  So I’ll have some, now and again.  Of course, since I’m writing about it now, I want some now.  Yum, yum.  And since I’m always trying to lose weight, I don’t have any in the house.

Wait, there’s an ancient package of hot chocolate drink mix in the back of the kitchen cupboard….

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

