Skip to content

16% of everything

January 1, 2013

Several things I’ve read and/or seen on television science shows have left me with the impression that scientists theorize that there is something called dark energy, and something called dark matter, and that 84% of everything in the universe is one or the other.

Image

Dark matter is, evidently, something that we cannot directly perceive.  Cannot see, hear, touch, smell or taste.  Its existence and properties are inferred from its gravitational effects on visible matter, radiation, and the large scale structure of the universe. (Wikipedia)

So, if this is how things are, and if the 84% figure is correct, or approximately so, then what little we know of the universe, may only be about the 16% we can see and measure and examine.  So we know a little about 16% of everything.  Doesn’t seem like much.  If this were a course we were taking, the best we could do on the final exam would seem to be an F, even if we got everything that we did know correct.  Unless, of course, we’re talking about multiple choice, and then we could guess.  And, perhaps, the scientists do a lot of guessing..  Which is not meant, in any way, shape or form, to denigrate them or the work they do.  I have a lot of respect and admiration for scientists, which is probably why I was reading and watching the things that informed me about the lack of knowledge about dark matter and, therefore, the universe.

Another theory, unrelated, I think, is about the multi-verse.  Which, if I understand it at all, seems to posit that there are an infinite number of universes, and that at every moment, however, you measure a moment, each possibility of what comes next actually happens, in one or more of the multi-verses.  Every possibility comes to fruition.  That’s what an infinite number can do for you.  Lots of room to stretch out.  So in some of the universes, I guess I exist, and in a whole lot I don’t.  In some that I do exist, I live like, or pretty much like, I have, and in some, I suppose, I died at birth, or in a pre-birth miscarriage, or hit by a car at age one, or two, or three, or four, etc.  In some there is an earth, but no life on it.  In some, there is no earth.  In some, perhaps there is no milky way, the galaxy in which our solar system resides.  And it seems to me that if this is the case, that there are an infinite number of universes, comprising every single possibility of what could happen next, and what could have happened next, then what happens in this universe that I’m aware of, must have to happen, and exactly the way it has happens and will happen, because otherwise, it’d be another universe, existing, somehow, elsewhere, if elsewhere has any meaning in such a supposition.

I’m not certain, but this seems as though this could be a good excuse to eat ice cream.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

