Skip to content

Drive, he wrote

March 16, 2013

I’m going to tell you about 3 people, one of whom was me, but one of them probably was you one or more times in the past, and will be again, in the near future.

First of all, there was an article in this morning’s L.A. Times about the computer network that controls the stop lights all over L.A., and how that had improved the driving congestion situation in L.A.  Take that with a grain of salt, perhaps.

Image 

Anyway.

Today, about half a block from an intersection, I pulled out of my parking spot and never built up much speed, because I was turning right at the corner. 

At the corner a man, possibly in his 70’s, had the WALK sign and stepped off the curb.  He had looked neither to left nor right, but, remarkably, wasn’t staring at a smartphone. 

I came to a stop.  Didn’t need to hit the brakes, as I wasn’t driving very fast.  But I heard the car behind me screech to a halt and I looked into my rear view mirror to see the young driver behind me moving his mouth in such a way that it seemed likely he was cursing, either at me, and/or at the situation that had frustrated his forward movement.  At least he didn’t rear end me.  Or, this being L.A., shoot me.

I have long been convinced that the terrible traffic congestion in L.A. would be largely solved if people drove better.  By better I mean with more skill, according to the laws, and with some consideration for others.  It will never happen.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

